

Company: Sol Infotech Pvt. Ltd.

Website: www.courtkutchehry.com

ANDHRA PRADESH (TELANGANA AREA) LAND (SPECIAL ASSESSMENT) ACT, 1952

32 of 1952

[30th July, 1952]

CONTENTS

- 1. Short title, extent and commencement
- 2. Definitions
- 3 . <u>Levy of additional special assessment in areas where</u> resettlement is due
- 4. Mode of recovery
- 5. Alteration of rates of special assessments
- 6. Power of Government to notify exemptions
- 7. Power to make rules
- 8. Bar of Jurisdiction of Courts
- 9. Power to remove difficulties

SCHEDULE 1:- SCHEDULE

ANDHRA PRADESH (TELANGANA AREA) LAND (SPECIAL ASSESSMENT) ACT, 1952

32 of 1952

[30th July, 1952]

An Act to provide for the levy of special assessment on certain lands in the Telangana area of the State of Andhra Pradesh. Preamble: Whereas it is expedient to provide for the levy of special assessments on certain lands in the Telangana area of the State of Andhra Pradesh: It is hereby enacted as follows

1. Short title, extent and commencement :-

- (1) This Act may be called the Andhra Pradesh (Telangana Area) Land (Special Assessment) Act, 1952.
- (2) It extends to the whole of the Telangana area of the State of Andhra Pradesh.
- (3) It shall be deemed to have come into force on the 1st day of June 1952.

2. Definitions :-

In this Act unless there is anything repugnant to the subject or context

- (a) Notification means a notification published in the Gazette and the expression notified shall be construed accordingly;
- (b) prescribed means prescribed by rules made under this Act;
- (c) year means the agricultural year commencing on the 1st day of June;
- (d) words and expressions used in this Act but not defined therein shall have the meaning assigned to them in the Andhra Pradesh (Telangana Area) Land Revenue Act, 1317F. (Act VIII of 1317F).

3. Levy of additional special assessment in areas where resettlement is due :-

In the Taluqs where resettlement is due and shown in the schedule there shall be levied a special assessment on lands for the year commencing on the first day of June 1952, and for each subsequent year at the rates shown in the same schedule until the assessment in pursuance of resettlement operations are imposed; Provided that the special assessment shall not be levied on the former non Diwani areas where assessments have not been brought to the level of the adjoining Diwani areas.

Provided further that the special assessment shall not be levied on such lands of the Taluqas, mentioned in the schedule, which have been resettled at any time within the last 30 years before the first day of June 1952, and the reassessed amount has already been imposed on those lands.

4. Mode of recovery :-

- (1) The special assessment made under this Act shall be in addition to the assessment which may be levied from a Pattedar if this Act had not been passed.
- (2) Any special assessment made under this Act shall be recoverable as arrears of land revenue in such instalments if any, as may be prescribed.

5. Alteration of rates of special assessments :-

Government may, by notification, alter with effect from such date as may be stated therein the rates of special assessments or add to the areas shown in the schedule: Provided that no rate of special assessment shall be increased above the corresponding rate given in the schedule unless it is approved by a resolution of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

6. Power of Government to notify exemptions :-

The Government may, by notification, and subject to such restrictions and conditions as may be specified therein, exempt in whole or in part

- (1) any land from the levy of special assessments under this Act;
- (2) any class of Pattedars from special assessments under this Act.

7. Power to make rules :-

- (1) Government may by notification, make rules to give effect to the provisions of this Act.
- (2) In particular and without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing powers such rules may provide for
- (a) the person by whom or the authority by which special assessments shall be levied under this Act;
- (b) the manner in which and the time within which special assessments may be levied under this Act;
- (c) appeals against orders passed under this Act; the revision of orders passed on such appeals; the fees payable in respect of such appeals or applications for revision; and the time within which, the conditions subject to which, and the procedure according to which they may be preferred or dealt with;
- (d) the levy of any special assessment on land under this Act which has escaped such assessment and the period within which such levy may be made, provided that such period shall not exceed three years:
- (e) the enforcement of the attendance of persons liable to special assessments, their examination on oath or affirmation and the production of documents.
- (3) The power to make rules conferred by this section shall be subject to the condition of previous publication in the Gazette.

8. Bar of Jurisdiction of Courts :-

Except as provided by or under this Act, no order passed under this

Act shall be questioned in any Court.

9. Power to remove difficulties :-

If any difficulty arises in giving effect to the provisions of this Act, the Government as occasion may require by order do anything which appears to the Government to be necessary for the purpose of removing the difficulty.

SCHEDULE 1 SCHEDULE

Schedule -1					
Sl.No.	Name of				
	taluk, of				
	special				
	where				
	esettlement				
	Is due Rates				
	Assessment				
	dry Wet				
1.	Kodangal Two				
	annas				

	per Re One
	anna
	per Re
2.	Andole do do
3.	Devarkonda do
	do
4.	Nizamabad do
	do
5.	Pakhal do do
6.	Mulug do do
7.	Palvancha do
	do
8.	Mahadevpur do
	do
9.	Sultanabad do

10.	do Adilabad do
	do
11.	Nirmal do do
12.	Asifabad do
	do
13.	Sirpur Two
	annas per
	Re Two annas
	per Re
14.	Chinnur do do
15.	Laxettipet do
	do
16.	Ootnur do do
17.	Makhtal do do
18.	Parkal do do

19.	Khammam do do				
20.	Mahabubabad				
	do do				
21.	Dharur do do				
22.	Kalabgur do				
	do				
23.	Mahboobnagar				
	do do				
24.	Pargi do do				
25.	Nagarkurnool				
	do do				
26.	Kalvakurthi				
	do do				
27.	Armoor do do				
28.	Kamareddy do				

	do				
29.	Banswada do				
	do				
30.	Bodhan do do				
31.	Warangal do				
	do				
32.	Nyalkal				
	Revenue				
	Circle				
	of Zahirabad				
	taluk do do				